Skip navigation

You are here

Eighteen Morris Professors Receive All-University Imagine Fund Awards

A stylized M on the side of a brick building, blue sky in the background
Jenna Ray
Publication date: 
March 1, 2017
The Imagine Fund supports projects in the arts, humanities, and design at the University of Minnesota.

Seventeen University of Minnesota, Morris professors received all-University 2017–18 Imagine Fund Annual Faculty Awards, and one received a Special Events grant. The Imagine Fund supports projects in the arts, humanities, and design at the University of Minnesota. A total of 101 Annual Faculty Awards and eight Special Events grants have been awarded systemwide this year.

2017–18 Morris Campus Recipients and Projects, Annual Faculty Awards:

Humanities Division

  • Viktor Berberi, assistant professor of Italian, Danilo Dolci: Poetry, Praxis, and Nature
    Mary Elizabeth Bezanson, professor of communication, media, & rhetoric, Making the Case for Nonviolence: The Rhetorical Structure of the Five Volumes of March
    Jonathan Campbell, assistant professor of music, The Improvisational Process of Jazz Saxophonist Rich Perry
    Stephen Carey, associate professor of German, The Philosophy of the Obscene: Onomastics in Wittenwiler's Ring
    Dan Demetriou, associate professor of philosophy, The Antagonistic Limits of Civil Discourse
    Ann DuHamel, assistant professor of music, Solo Piano Work – Commissioning Edie Hill
    Julie Eckerle, professor of English, Early Modern Women in the National Archives of Ireland
    Janet Ericksen, associate professor of English, Shaping Readers in Anglo-Saxon England
    Thomas Genova, assistant professor of Spanish, Borders of Brazil: Euclides da Cunha and 'Latin America'
    Michael Lackey, Distinguished McKnight University Professor of English, Global Truthful Fictions: Conversations with Biographical Novelists
    Jess Larson, professor of studio art, Girl On Girl (Re)Action
    Jason Ramey, assistant professor of studio art, From The Wall To The Floor: American vernacular interior details extracted and recontextualized
    Ray Schultz, professor of theatre arts, Direction of Musical
    Henrik Wilberg, assistant professor of German, The Aesthetic State. Ernst Kantorowicz, Stefan George, and the Poetry of Political Theology

Social Science Division

  • Sheri Breen, associate professor of political science, Dakota/Lakota Teachings on Food Systems and Seed Sovereignty
    Benjamin Narvaez, assistant professor of history, Chinese Immigration in Costa Rica during the Era of Exclusion, 1897-1943
    Kevin Whalen, assistant professor of history, Native Railways: Indigenous Mobility in a Modernizing West

Annual Faculty Awards are one of three primary Imagine Fund programs, which also include a Special Events grants program. Brook Miller, professor of English, received a $10,000 Special Events grant titled Prairie Gate Literary Festival to host the PGLF this fall.

An initiative of the Executive Vice President and Provost, Imagine Fund programs are supported by a generous grant from the McKnight Foundation; additional contributions have come from the Provost's Office, Graduate School, and the Office of the Vice President for Research, and from the creation of the chair through the Permanent University Fund. To learn more visit