Skip navigation

You are here

Goodnough Earns Outstanding Service to University Senate Governance Recognition

Jennifer Goodnough
Jenna Ray
Publication date: 
May 6, 2020

University of Minnesota Morris Associate Professor of Chemistry Jennifer Goodnough has earned the Outstanding Service to University Senate Governance Recognition. The award recognizes commitment to University shared governance.

"I'm hard pressed to identify anyone who has done more good work for University Senate governance than Jenn Goodnough," says her nominator, Professor of Chemistry Nancy Carpenter. "Anyone who knows her knows she is truly amazing at this work—her attention to detail, clear-thinking, and work ethic are unsurpassed. She has a passionate devotion to policy and a mind like a steel trap when it comes to retaining the details necessary to apply policy with integrity and fairness."

Goodnough has been an active and dedicated participant in shared governance at the campus level for 15 years and systemwide for 10. She has been a member of several senate committees and a senator for the Morris campus. She serves as the chair of the Senate Committee on Educational Policy (SCEP) and as an ex officio member on the Faculty Consultative Committee. On the Morris campus, she also has chaired the Scholastic Committee and will chair the Steering Committee next year.

Campus governance, Goodnough says, has the power to make the University stronger. And it is strengthened by participation from the community.

"When campus governance (both at Morris and systemwide) is working at its best, faculty, staff, students, and administrators are working together to make the University of Minnesota a place of excellence," says Goodnough. "I think the key to making governance work at its best is having engaged people take advantage of the opportunities presented to be both a voice and an ear. And I think that has probably never been more true or more tested than during these unusual times."

About Goodnough

Goodnough holds a Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin and a BS from St. Francis University. Her area of expertise is the study of hydrogen bonded liquids via a semi-empirical method. She is a recipient of the John Tate Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising.

About the Award

The Outstanding Service to University Senate Governance Recognition honors faculty, P&A, and civil service employees, who have made a significant impact on University Senate governance, demonstrated a longstanding commitment to University Senate governance, and served as an inspiration to others.