Skip navigation

You are here

WCSA Aggies Support Edson Auditorium Renovation

Ted Storck and Bryan Herrmann
Jenna Ray
Publication date: 
August 23, 2018

The West Central School of Agriculture (WCSA) Class of 1954 is getting in on the ground floor of the Edson Auditorium renovation at the University of Minnesota Morris, quite literally. The Class recently sponsored a chair to help support the project. Ted Storck '54 said his class voted to sponsor a chair "because they felt their high school education at WCSA was superb and helped make them successful." Storck adds that they hope those who sit in the chair "will recall the history of WCSA and the legacy the WCSA students have left upon the area." He believes that, as a result of the Class of '54's support for UMN Morris, students will leave campus prepared to add their own legacy to the area and world.

The Edson Auditorium renovation is made possible by a generous gift from the Morrison family. The renovated auditorium will feature prominently in the new Edward J. and Helen Jane Morrison Performing Arts Center. Longtime friends of the University and one of the Morris campus's founding families, the Morrisons have been dedicated to the campus and its success since the 1950s, when they led the community effort to establish a University of Minnesota campus on these grounds. Helen Jane Morrison provided the inspiration and energy for the concert series that grew into the Performing Arts Series. In 2017 she expanded her family's legacy on campus by establishing the state-of-the-art Edward J. and Helen Jane Morrison Performing Arts Center. The new performing arts center, and the auditorium at its heart, will bring new life to ongoing efforts that touch every piece of the campus mission.

"Edson Auditorium is more than just a performance space," says Chancellor Michelle Behr. "It is essential to our role as a regional center for education, culture, and research."

Storck pictured here in Edson Auditorium with UMN Morris Vice Chancellor for Finance and Facilities Bryan Herrmann '01.