Skip navigation

You are here

UMN Morris will celebrate 59th Commencement

Sue Dieter
Publication date: 
May 3, 2022

tassel on student's mortar board

More than 290 University of Minnesota Morris students will receive their degrees at the 59th Commencement on Saturday, May 14. The ceremony will take place at 1 p.m. on the campus mall. All are invited to attend or to watch the event streamed online.


Student Color Guards will be Ella Vankempen ’23 and Jayson Weber ’24. Mace Bearer will be LeAnn Dean, director of Rodney A. Briggs Library. Ava Allrogen ’23 and Biruk Mengistu ’23, as Student Marshals, will lead the graduates. Faculty Marshal will be Gwen Rudney, professor of education.

Christian Diederich ’25, Drew Erickson ’24, Alex Happ ’25, Emma Hiegel ’24, Griffin Leo Peck ’22, Jorde Rinta ’25, Bria Teasley ’24, and Johannah Elyse Woodley ’22 will sing "The Star Spangled Banner." Acting Chancellor Janet Schrunk Ericksen will provide the welcome and recognition of special guests.  

As 2022 recipient of the Curtis H. Larson Award, Chineng Vang ’22 will speak on behalf of the graduates. 

In recognition of the campus's origins as an American Indian boarding school, the Northern Wind Singers (Woodland Ojibwe) will perform a Native American Honor Song to recognize and pay tribute to the Class of 2022. Anishinaabe Language Instructor Gabe Desrosiers '05, Lake of the Woods, Ontario, Canada, is the lead singer/composer for the group and the keeper of the drum.


University of Washington Vice President of Minority Affairs and University Diversity Officer  Rickey Hall will serve as commencement speaker. Hall has more than 20 years of experience in higher education, including serving as director of the Multi-Ethnic Student Program at UMN Morris from 1998–2002.

Acting Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Dean Peh Ng and Humanities Division Chair  Stacey Aronson will present the candidates, and University of Minnesota Regent Bo Thao-Urabe will confer the degrees.

University of Minnesota Morris Alumni Association President Randy Koopman ’78 will welcome the new graduates into the UMM Alumni Association. A reception will be held in the Student Center, Oyate Hall, after the ceremony.


In the event of inclement weather, the ceremony will be held in the Cougar Sports Center. Seating will be limited to five guest tickets per graduate. Accommodations for unticketed guests to view the ceremony will be available in the Edson Auditorium, Morrison Performing Arts Center, Student Center.


Commencement will be streamed online, beginning at 1 p.m. To learn more, visit