Skip navigation

You are here

U of M President Announces Search for Morris Chancellor

Sue Dieter
Publication date: 
September 29, 2022

University of Minnesota President Joan Gabel has announced the launch of a national search for the next University of Minnesota Morris chancellor.

Chancellor Michelle Behr retired in June 2021 after four and a half years of leadership on the Morris campus. Janet Schrunk Ericksen was named Acting Chancellor in July 2021 and will continue to hold the position until a new chancellor is named. 

Peh Ng, acting dean and vice chancellor for academic affairs at Morris, and Michael Rodriguez, U of M Twin Cities dean of the College of Education and Human Development will be the co-chairs of the search committee. 

Gabel states, “We are committed to a fully consultative process, including ensuring substantial Morris representation on the search committee and considering input from the entire campus community, in alignment with the U of M Morris constitution.”

The University is taking nominations for additional search committee members through Oct. 7.  Community members are encouraged to participate in the search process.  Nominations can be submitted by filling out this form

Once the University announces the full search committee membership, the committee will host listening sessions both on and off campus. The search committee will also host public interviews on campus.

Gabel said the University is hoping to announce the next chancellor before the end of spring semester.

Information about the search is available here.