Weekly Bulletin


Myrna Itzen Stahman '67 Knitting Showcase

Myrna Itzen Stahman '67 will showcase her knitting work at the Evansville Art Center during the month of June. You can find more information at evansvilleartcenter.com/events/.

2016 Commencement Weekend Public Event Schedule

students walking at commencement

Friday, May 13

International Graduate Reception

11 a.m., Turtle Mountain Cafe

American Indian Honoring Ceremony

3:30 p.m., Oyate Hall

Honors Recital

5 p.m., HFA Recital Hall

Honors and Awards Parent Reception

6 p.m., Turtle Mountain Cafe

Honors and Awards Ceremony

7 p.m. Edson Auditorium

Saturday, May 14

Brunch Buffet

10 a.m. until noon, Dining Hall (Complimentary for graduating seniors, faculty, and staff. Additional tickets available at the Dining Hall: $11 adults, $5 ages 4–10, free under age 4)

Division Receptions

11 a.m. until 12:30 p.m.

Division of Education, Cougar Room, Oyate Hall

Division of Humanities, Morrison Gallery

Division of the Social Sciences, University and Alumni Rooms, Oyate Hall

Division of Science and Mathematics, Science Atrium

Commencement Ceremony

1:30 p.m., campus mall (P.E. Center in the event of rain)

Commencement Reception

following ceremony, Oyate Hall


Recognition Dinner 2016

Recognition Dinner Award Winners

Recognition of Retirees

  • Christopher T. Cole, professor of biology

  • Nancy Erdahl, post office supervisor

  • Mark Fohl, director of intercollegiate athletics

  • Henry Fulda, assistant vice chancellor for student life

  • Vicki Graham, professor of English

  • Jacqueline R. Johnson, chancellor

  • Corrine Larson, registered nurse

  • Dale Livingston, environmental health and safety specialist

  • Tim Soderberg, associate professor of chemistry

Award Winners

Distinguished McKnight University Professorship:

  • Michael Lackey, professor of English

 UMM Faculty Distinguished Research Award:

  • Michael Lackey, professor of English

 Horace T. Morse-Minnesota Alumni Association Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education:

  • Heather J. Peters, associate professor of psychology

 UMM Alumni Association Teaching Award

  • Heather J. Peters, associate professor of psychology

President's Award for Outstanding Service:

  • Windy Roberts, teaching specialist

 Mary Martelle Memorial Awards:

  • Stephanie Ferrian, student services specialist &

  • Bailey Stottrup '16

 Outstanding Support Staff Awards:

  • Lacey Fahl, executive operations/student services specialist

  • Marie Hagen, financial aid administrator/fiscal manager

  • Delores Rathke, senior food service worker

 Morris Academic Staff Award:

  • Judy Korn, coordinator of the Office of the Registrar

Emily Bruce Wins "Best Dissertation" Award

Emily Bruce, visiting assistant professor, is the winner of the 2016 "Best Dissertation" Award from the Arts and Humanities, University of Minnesota Graduate School.

In the News

Kylan Hill '15 Trains to Join Conservation Officer Rank

Featured Events


Rodney S. Hanley named sixth chancellor of the University of Minnesota, Morris.

Share with your friends